Posted by: Brad | 13 December 2008

Things That I Have Not Yet Done

I’ll go into this a little later, because the differences between students in Australia and students in Toronto (and, I suspect, North America on the whole) are significant and fairly interesting, but for now I’ll just mention that OH MY GOD THERE IS SO MUCH HOMEWORK TO DO.

For that reason – and the fact that I probably dedicate as much time to procrastination as I do to actual work, alas – there’s a whole bunch of stuff that I haven’t yet done that, as a first time traveller out of Australia, I should really get onto. So here it is on public record; I hope this will mean I actually get it done. My last essay’s due on the 7th of January, and I head off to London on the 31st, so that should give me plenty of time.

  • Snow stuff. I’ve never been skiing, I’ve never been snowboarding, and I’ve never been ice skating. Let me tell you, there’s a lot of snow in Canada, so I should really sort myself out. Let’s just hope I don’t break anything.
  • Niagara Falls. Apparently it freezes over (!) in the winter, so I really need to check this out. I missed the International Students Centre trip, arranged through the University, last night, so I guess I’ll have to do this one on my lonesome.
  • Hiking. I’m not sure if this is still realistic. Since the snow has started, and doesn’t look like leaving us any time soon, I don’t know if it’s still possible to go wandering through the wilderness. But if it is, I should.
  • Cultural bits and pieces. There’s the ROM – the Royal Ontario Museum (take a look at the architecture – here and here. It reminds me a little of our own Federation Square, and the ROM seems to polarise the locals here as much as Fed Square too); the newly-renovated Art Gallery of Ontario (done by Toronto-born Frank Gehry, no less); and there’s a shoe museum near my house. I’ve never been to a shoe museum, and frankly it sounds underwhelming, but a few have people have told me it’s just brill, so we’ll see. Beyond these, more bars. There’s a great jazz place in particular, The Rex, that I keep meaning to head back to (but it’s so far and so cold!).

And that’s about it. I’ve gotten as much United States stuff done as was feasible, I’ve seen a few NBA games, and the hockey’s an impossibility – Torontonians are crazy about it so I think the games are sold out for approximately ever. Suggestions, though, are welcome.

Responses

  1. I didn’t know Gehry was a Canuk. Shame you didn’t get to see the Walt Disney Concert Hall on your LA wanders. Hmmm, I can’t hyperlink to that when submitting a comment to your blog entry. I’ll check with my Sydney/Canadian connections (who are also crazy about hockey) and get back to you. Alternatively, get a Press Card and talk yourself up.

  2. Sorted.

    Also, I actually meant I’m taking suggestions about other activities, but thanks for the thought. Maybe I should try the media thing again…


Leave a Reply

Categories

